The Rosary is a combination of vocal and mental prayer on the mysteries of our redemption. It is divided into the five Joyful Mysteries, the five Illuminous Mysteries, the five Sorrowful Mysteries and the five Glorious Mysteries.

Pope John Paul II in his apostolic letter “The Rosary of the Virgin Mary”, released on 16th October 2002, has proposed that we add five more decades called “Mysteries of Light”, to the Rosary. In these mysteries we contemplate the public ministry of Jesus.

The Pope has suggested the following order for the recitation of the Rosary.

The order for the recitation.

  • a. Monday & Saturday – Joyful Mysteries
  • b. Tuesday & Friday – Sorrowful Mysteries
  • c. Wednesday & Sunday – Glorious Mysteries
  • d. Thursday – Mysteries of Light

The steps to pray.

Please follow this order when you pray.

  1. Make the sign of the Cross and say Apostle’s Creed…

  2. Say “Our Father…”

  3. Say Three ” Hail Mary…”

  4. Say ” Glory be to the Father…”

  5. Announce First Mystery, then say “Our Father…”

  6. Say Ten “Hail Mary…”

  7. Say “Glory be to the Father…”

    Say after each decade – “O my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of hell, take all souls to heaven, especially those most in need of Your mercy”

  8. Announce the Second Mystery then say “Our Father…” and repeat step 6, 7 and continue with Third, Fourth & Fifth Mysteries in the same manner.

Leave A Comment